Search
Close this search box.

原位实时分析中同分异构体解决方案——耦合毫秒级离子迁移谱的化学电离质谱仪

Vocus IMS

Michael Kamrath and Felipe Lopez-Hilfiker
TOFWERK, Thun, Switzerland

原位电离质谱法可以快速且可靠地分析各类有机分子。当受到复杂基体中可能的同分异构体干扰时,无色谱分离的质谱峰可能难以准确定性识别。举例来说,香精香料中存在大量的同分异构体,图1 是两种香兰素同分异构体:水杨酸甲酯(又名冬青油)和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯,它们香味不同,且安全性和用途差异较大,在进行这些同分异构体分析时,原位质谱必须搭配另一种分离方式来解决分离问题。

图1 水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯互为同分异构体

离子迁移谱(Ion mobility IMS,或称离子淌度)是一种能够与质谱技术互为补充或有机结合的分离方法,能够有效分辨同分异构体。IMS可以根据平均碰撞截面积(即分子尺寸)来分离不同结构的相似离子。使用传统IMS或者进阶IMS-TOF时,待测分子首先变成离子状态,离子根据碰撞截面积的不同,产生第一维的分离;也可耦合进入飞行时间管(TOF),依据质荷比(m/z)进行二次分离,这样就获得了离子的二维信息。通过碰撞截面积和精确质荷比的组合信息,我们就可以解读出原位进样时单个质谱峰所包含的同分异构体信息。

Vocus CI-IMS-TOF示意图

图2是TOFWERK最新独家发布的Vocus CI-IMS-TOF示意图。首先由Vocus化学离子源产生母离子,跟待测物分子碰撞后产生产物离子,随后产物离子被引入IMS分离室。分离室中充满惰性缓冲气体(如氮气、氦气等),在3毫巴压强条件下,产物离子沿着9米长的蛇形路径单向移动。离子的移动由弱电场调控。碰撞截面积小的离子以较小的摩擦力穿过缓冲气体,相对于碰撞截面积较大的离子更早到达漂移区末端。离子在IMS漂移区中移动的总时间被称为IMS迁移时间,其与分子的碰撞截面积(CCS)负相关。Vocus CI-IMS-TOF使用的是由太平洋西北国家实验室(PNNL)开发的无损离子操作(SLIM)专利技术[1]。

图2 TOFWERK Vocus-IMS-TOF仪器的示意图。蓝色和橙色离子路径分别表示TOF单独测量和IMS-TOF测量

TOFWERK的Vocus IMS-TOF提供两种操作模式。第一种模式是绕过IMS,只进行TOF测量(图2中的蓝色路径)。第二种则是通过离子门引导离子通过IMS漂移区(图2中的橙色路径),产生二维数据以便分辨单个质谱峰中的可能多个同分异构体。

离子迁移(即淌度)进行毫秒级同分异构体分离

我们以水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯为例。两者具有相同的分子式即精确质量,只在芳香环上的羟基位置不同。在质子转移反应(PTR)离子化学中,两个物种均出现在相同的相应质子化分子峰(153.055Th)。在MS-only模式(蓝色)下,两者的混合气只能被识别为C8H8O3分子总和,并不能定性定量分析出水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯的单独组分信息。

图3在MS-only模式(蓝色)下,水杨酸甲酯(500 ppt浓度)和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯(500 ppt浓度)混合物的质谱图;在IMS-TOF模式(橙色)下对相同的水杨酸甲酯/对羟基苯甲酸甲酯混合物的质谱图;插图(灰色)展示了IMS-TOF(橙色)质谱图对应的离子迁移谱图

采用IMS-TOF模式能在保持实时原位分析能力的同事,在单谱图峰中进一步分辨出多种组分。该模式下,产物离子被引入IMS中(图2中橙色路线),离子门使用伪随机序列(复用),调制离子信号,同时提供时序信息来测算迁移时间。由于离子调制, IMS-TOF模式(橙色)下的离子损失很明显(图3),基于50%的门序占空比,理论上,IMS-TOF模式应当测到MS-only模式下50%的离子信号值。实际实验中,IMS-TOF模式下大约能测到40%离子信号,即理论和实验之间有10%的差异,表明有一小部分产物离子在迁移过程中或/和离子门处丢失。上述离子强度损失权衡之处是对全谱图采集时的二维离子迁移谱分析。图3插图中灰色轨迹展示了90秒平均后153.055 Th的迁移时间分布:水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯在IMS谱图上基线分离,也意味着这两者的相对浓度也可以同时被监测到。

为了更好地模拟物种浓度低于100 ppt时,IMS的信噪比有无变化,我们‘借用’图3中同一套数据集。图4中展示了水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯混合物的C13同位素(13CC7H9O3+,m/Q=154.055 Th)的IMS漂移分布。因为C-13同位素浓度预计只有C12分子的8.8%,约40 ppt。除了浓度差异外,漂移时间分布应与图3中C12母分子的分布相同(灰色),而这在图4中漂移分布得到了完美呈现。这意味着浓度在40 ppt范围内的同分异构体分子可用Vocus CI-IMS-TOF仪器进行精确分离和检测,但低浓度下可能需要几十秒的平均时间来进一步提升信噪比。

图4 等同于40 ppt浓度的水杨酸甲酯和40 ppt对羟基苯甲酸甲酯谱图峰(13CC7H9O3+,m/Q 154.055)的迁移时间分布

同分异构体的实时监测

尽管图3和图4中的使用的是90秒平均后数据,但典型的迁移时间只有20-150毫秒,因此实时监测同分异构体的含量是完全可行的。当同分异构体在分钟级别时段内有浓度波动时,一般的气相色谱(GC)很难监测到这样的瞬时浓度变化。

图5展示了一个实时测量同分异构体浓度的实验结果。少量水杨酸甲酯溶液被注入一台液体校准系统(LCS),然后随着它被对羟基苯甲酸溶液气化样品带出系统而持续衰减。当水杨酸甲酯样品跑完之后,对羟基苯甲酸甲酯的最大浓度维持在2.5 ppb,直到实验结束。

图5种灰色m/Q =153 Th序列为水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯(或其他可能同分异构体)的信号总和,从实验记录开始,总信号快速上升,在约70秒后稳定,直到实验记录结束。在TOF质谱维度上,没有证据分辨出同分异构体的组分区别。

图5上展示了实验期间不同时间点拍摄的三套IMS谱图 “快照”,每个快照的平均‘快门’时间为2.9秒。绿色和红色的点分别标识了水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯的离子迁移谱峰,两者相对强度随时间变化,这意味着这两个物种的相对浓度也有相应的变化。这些分析结果是基于水杨酸甲酯和对羟基苯甲酸甲酯的相应IMS信号进行的—量化结果见图5(下)。水杨酸甲酯的信号(绿色)迅速上升,到80秒时达到最大信号后且快速下降至基线;对羟基苯甲酸甲酯的信号(红色)在后期快速上升并稳定。

图5 (上)在m/Q = 153.055 Th时间序列中三个不同时间点记录的IMS谱图;(下)m/Q = 153.055 Th的时间序列数据显示了总离子信号随时间的变化趋势(灰色)。IMS维度显示了互为同分异构体水杨酸甲酯(绿色)和甲基苯甲酸甲酯(红色)的瞬时浓度变化。

现行的色谱或者色谱质谱联用可以获得文中图3类似的同分异构体分离以及不连续的(10分钟-60分钟不等)的数据。记录图5种秒级内快速波动的异构体组分变化对色谱技术而言几乎是不可能完成的任务。相对而言Vocus CI-IMS-TOF能进行毫秒级的同分异构体监测,更能为原位进样添加多一维度视角,为复杂基体中痕量目标物的实时在线且精准精确定性定量分析提供了坚实的硬件支撑和数据支持。

文献

[1]  https://www.pnnl.gov/available-technologies/structures-lossless-ion-manipulation-slim

声明

MOBILion是文中SLIM专利技术商业用途的独家拥有者。TOFWERK已经获得授权在TOFWERK相关质谱仪产品中集成SLIM硬件和技术。

了解更多

Vocus CI-TOF

Isomer Separation with Vocus Ion Mobility Spectrometry

Vocus IMS

Michael Kamrath and Felipe Lopez-Hilfiker
TOFWERK, Thun, Switzerland

Introduction

Chemical ionization mass spectrometers reliably analyze VOCs in a variety of environments. However, when a compound is masked by either an isomeric or isobaric interference, this presents ambiguity in the analysis. Interferences introduce uncertainty in mass spectrum peak identification as there is no definitive measurement of the structures contributing to a mass spectrum peak. As an example, this is a common issue in flavor and fragrance chemistry where a single molecular formula (ion) may be present in several isomeric forms. Each ion is of importance since they uniquely contribute to the perceived flavor or fragrance. Figure 1 presents two vanillin isomers — methyl salicylate and methyl paraben. To separate and differentiate between these isomers, mass spectrometry must be supplemented with another dimension of separation.

Figure 1. The isomeric structures of methyl salicylate and methylparaben.

When distinct isomers need to be resolved, ion mobility spectrometry (IMS) is a technique which can be used in conjunction with mass spectrometry. IMS discriminates between ions that adopt structures which differ in their rotationally averaged collision cross sections (i.e., average molecular size). With Vocus IMS-MS, analytes are ionized by chemical ionization and the resulting ions are separated by their collision cross sections before mass analysis. This provides two-dimensional information—the mass-to-charge ratio and cross section-related IMS. This deconvolutes multiple isomeric or isobaric components present in a single mass spectrum peak.

Operation of the Vocus CI-IMS-TOF

Figure 2 presents a schematic of TOFWERK’s Vocus CI-IMS-TOF. In this instrument, ions are generated by the Vocus ion source before they are guided into the IMS separation chamber. The chamber is purged with an inert buffer gas (e.g., nitrogen, helium, etc.) and maintained at a pressure of 3.00 mbar. The ions are moved along a 9-meter serpentine path using technology developed at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory for lossless ion manipulations (SLIM) [1]. The movement of ions is controlled using weak electric fields. Ions with small collision cross sections travel through the buffer gas with less friction and arrive at the end of the drift region sooner than ions with larger collision cross sections. The total time an ion spends traveling through the IMS drift region is referred as the IMS drift time, which is related to a molecule’s collision cross section.

Figure 2. Schematic representation of the TOFWERK Vocus-IMS-TOF instrument. Both MS-only and IMS-MS measurements are possible as indicated by the blue and orange ion paths, respectively.

TOFWERK’s Vocus CI-IMS-TOF provides two modes of operation. The first mode bypasses the IMS, effectively allowing the user to perform MS-only measurements (blue path in Fig. 2). The second mode of operation directs ions through the IMS (orange path in Fig. 2) via an ion switch, producing 2-D data to deconvolute contributions from multiple isomers or isobars. IMS capabilities are easily activated on the Vocus CI-IMS-TOF when needed.

Isomer Separation With Ion Mobility

By analyzing the isomers methyl salicylate and methylparaben, we can demonstrate Vocus IMS separation. Since these compounds have the same monoisotopic mass and only differ in the position of the hydroxyl group on the aromatic ring, they both develop the same mass spectrum peak at the same corresponding protonated mass (153.05 Th) in proton transfer reaction (PTR) chemistry.  The blue trace in Figure 3 demonstrates this by experiment. This data was obtained by sampling an air mixture of methyl salicylate and methylparaben in MS-only mode at 500 ppt concentrations (blue path in Fig. 2, blue in Fig. 3). This data confirms the presence of at least one C8H8O3 compound, but it does not indicate how many isomers contributed to the peak. This can only be accomplished by activating IMS analysis.

Figure 3. Blue trace: mass spectrum obtained while sampling 500 ppt methyl salicylate and 500 ppt methylparaben in MS-only mode (blue path in Fig. 2). Orange trace: mass spectrum obtained while sampling the same methyl salicylate / methylparaben mixture in IMS-mode (orange path in Fig. 2). Gray trace: shows how the mass spectrum in orange is decomposed along the ion mobility dimension to reveal multiple components after a 90 second acquisition.

IMS mode activation allows for the individual components of a single mass peak to be separated. Once activated, ions are directed into the mobility region (orange path in Fig. 2) and a pseudorandom sequence (multiplexing) is applied to the ion gate, modulating the ion signal, and providing critical timing information to measure drift times. Due to ion modulation, ion losses are evident when comparing the IMS-MS mass spectrum (orange trace) to the MS-only mass spectrum (blue trace) in Figure 3. Based on the 50% duty cycle of the gate sequence, the theoretical expectation is to measure 50% of the ion signal in IMS-MS mode relative to MS-only mode. Experimentally, 40% of the ion signal is measured in IMS-MS mode compared to MS-only mode—a 10% difference between theory and experiment—indicating that a small percentage of ions are lost either in the drift region or at the ion gate. Nevertheless, this tradeoff in ion intensity makes it possible to generate drift time distributions for a wide range of mass-to-charge ratios. Through multiplexing, the duty cycle is 50%, compared to <1% in non-multiplexing approaches. The gray trace in Figure 3 represents the drift time distribution for 153.05 Th. Averaged over 90 seconds, this trace shows successful separation of methyl salicylate from the methylparaben. This enables the presence of either species to be easily confirmed and for their relative concentrations to be monitored with time.

To better understand how the S:N ratio of IMS data degrades at concentrations below 500 ppt, we use the same dataset presented in Figure 3 and display the IMS drift distribution for the first carbon isotope (13C1C7H9O3+, m/Q = 154.05 Th) of the methyl salicylate and methylparaben mixture in Figure 4. This is useful because the first carbon isotope concentration is expected to be only 8% of the 12C parents or 40 ppt for each compound. Aside from the lower concentration, the drift time distribution should be nearly identical to that presented for the 12C parent compounds in Figure 3 (gray trace). The drift distribution presented in Figure 4 is qualitatively like that in Figure 3, however, the S:N ratio is clearly less favorable as we approach the instrument’s LOD. This means that analytes having concentrations in the range of 40 ppt can be separated and detected with the Vocus CI-IMS-MS instrument but require 60–90 seconds of averaging.

Figure 4. Drift time distribution of the first carbon isotope (13C1C7H9O3+, m/Q 154.05) of methyl salicylate and methyl paraben sampled at 40 ppt each. The spectrum is qualitatively like that presented in Figure 3 except for the lower S:N ratio.

Real-Time Monitoring of Isomer Populations

Although the data in Figures 3 and 4 were averaged over 90 seconds, typical drift times occur within a 20–150 ms timescale. Since mobility separations occur on such short timescales, it is possible to monitor isomer populations in real time. This is useful when monitoring processes where isomer ratios fluctuate within timescales < 60 seconds, which is a challenge for fast gas chromatography (GC) instruments.

Figure 5 presents results from an experiment demonstrating real-time measurement of isomer populations. Here a small amount of a methyl salicylate solution is injected into a liquid calibration system (LCS) and the instrument response is recorded. In this experiment, an initial spike of methyl salicylate signal is expected and then decays as it is flushed out of the system by the methylparaben solution. The maximum concentration of methylparaben is 2.5 ppb toward the end of the run when it is no longer diluted by the methyl salicylate injection.

The top panel in Figure 5 presents three IMS spectra “snapshots” taken at different times during the experiment, each averaged over 2.9 seconds. The green and red dots identify the mass spectra peaks associated with methyl salicylate and methylparaben, respectively. The relative intensities of these features change with time, which implies a corresponding change in the relative population of the two species. Changes in isomer populations can be monitored by integrating the individual IMS signals and dividing the measured ion current by the ratio of the integrated areas. This method of analysis was performed for the methyl salicylate and methylparaben IMS signals – the results are presented in the bottom panel of Figure 5. Here the methyl salicylate signal (green) rises quickly until it reaches a maximum signal at 80 seconds after which it decreases. The methylparaben signal (red) remains low until later in the run.

Figure 5. Bottom panel: time series data for m/Q = 153 Th showing the evolution of the ion current with time (in gray). The IMS dimension reveals the transient response of the isomers methyl salicylate (in green) and methylparaben (in red).
Top panel: Shows the IMS spectra recorded at three different time points during the m/Q = 153 Th time series as indicated by the numbers 1, 2, and 3. The IMS spectra were each averaged for 2.9 seconds and show a clear exchange of ion population from methyl salicylate to methylparaben.

The m/Q Th channel presented in gray includes contributions from both methyl salicylate and methylparaben time series data. Here the signal quickly increases and then stabilizes after ~70 seconds. After this point, there is no clear indication that the isomer populations change. The labels “1”, “2”, and “3” along the time series trace correspond to the time points where the IMS spectra in the top panel were acquired as indicated by the matching labels.

While it may be possible to collect gas chromatography data like that presented in Figures 3 and 4, it would be challenging to reproduce the real-time data presented in Figure 5. The TOFWERK Vocus CI-IMS-TOF conducts isomer separations on a much faster timescale than GC, providing powerful utility for those needing fast analysis with isomer separation.

Reference

[1]  https://www.pnnl.gov/available-technologies/structures-lossless-ion-manipulation-slim

Acknowledgment

MOBILion is the exclusive licensee of the SLIM technology for commercialization purposes. TOFWERK has been authorized to implement the proprietary technology in select products.