Search
Close this search box.

利用航测等实时移动监测平台协同溯源甲烷排放 

Maya Abou-Ghanem, Abigail Koss, Omar El Hajj, & Veronika Pospisilova
TOFWERK USA

导言 

自工业革命起两个世纪以来,大气层甲烷 (CH4)浓度增加了一倍多。甲烷是一种强效温室气体 (GHG),其全球变暖潜能值(GWP)是二氧化碳 (CO2) 的 80 倍。这种增长与人类活动直接相关,因为大量甲烷源于化石燃料的生产和运输、农业耕作以及垃圾填埋场中有机物腐烂等。与二氧化碳相比,甲烷使地球气候变暖的强大能力,使其成为减缓气候变化战略的首要目标。因此,许多地区和全球倡议都将重点放在甲烷监测和减排上。控制甲烷排放的有效行动可以产生相对快速的气候效益,使其成为实现《巴黎协定》等国际气候目标的重要组成部分。然而,由于甲烷排放源种类多且组分不一,仅使用甲烷传感器来识别和归类关键的区域排放源会面临挑战。不过,甲烷通常与同源的挥发性有机化合物 (VOC) 和挥发性无机化合物 (VIC) 一并释放,可用于协同识别甲烷排放源区域。 

搭载Vocus Elf 小精灵PTR-TOF航测平台识别甲烷来源 

2023 年 10 月和 11 月期间,TOFWERK 与科罗拉多大学博尔德分校的北极和高山研究所 (INSTAAR) 以及马里兰大学合作开展了一个由科罗拉多州公共卫生和环境部资助的项目:采用一台小型飞机为载体的移动监测手段识别科罗拉多地区的石油和天然气排放源。科罗拉多州有 40,000 多口活跃的石油和天然气井以及 200 多家动物集中饲养场 (CAFOS),其中许多设施都集中在前沿山脉附近。上述两个行业都会导致甲烷排放,这使得该地区的甲烷源识别具有挑战性。本文中我们通过将Picarro 分析仪(cavity ring-down Picarro analyzer)与 TOFWERK 的 Vocus Elf 小精灵PTR-TOF相结合,展示了一种可靠的甲烷来源鉴定方法。Vocus Elf便携式质谱仪整机结构紧凑,能以超低检测限对挥发性有机化合物进行实时分析,被部署在在一架双引擎塞斯纳飞机上进行机载测量。

从 Vocus Elf PTR-TOF航测数据表明,甲烷浓度的增加往往与挥发性有机化合物含量的增加高度相关。结合这些信息我们可以更准确确定甲烷的排放源。图1显示了在Piceance盆地上空飞行时甲烷浓度时间序列,我们在该地区一小块区域内观测到多个甲烷羽流。Vocus Elf PTR-TOF 数据证明,这些甲烷羽流一般还富含芳香族挥发性有机化合物(包括三甲苯、二甲苯和甲苯),表明这些排放大概率源于石油和天然气产业。进一步深入分析可得出每个污染羽流的成分其实也不尽相同;例如,羽流1中三甲基苯与甲苯的相对比例低于羽流2。这些结果表明,甲烷是从该地区的多个来源排放的,这些来源的污染羽流在组分上也各不相同。 

Figure 1. a) parts-per-billion (ppb) mixing ratio of methane overlayed onto a Google Earth image of a flight taken over Piceance Basin and b) mixing ratios in ppb of methane (grey), trimethylbenzene (blue), xylenes (orange), and toluene (yellow), as well as the aircraft’s altitude (red) as a function of time. The dotted regions correspond to the methane enhancements observed in Figure 1a.
图 1. a)飞越Piceance盆地甲烷浓度分布图;b)以ppb为单位的甲烷(灰色)、三甲苯(蓝色)、二甲苯(橙色)和甲苯(黄色)混合比,以及飞机飞行高度(红色)与时间的函数关系。虚线区域对应着图 1a 中观察到的甲烷增强区段。 

甲烷增强也发生在CAFO农场附近,并与乙酸、乙醇和甲苯高度相关(图2)。其中一些挥发性有机化合物(VOC)组合以前曾在CAFO附近出现过[1],这表明在该地区观测到的甲烷来自农业污染源。 

图 2. a)在科罗拉多前沿山脉上空的航测甲烷浓度分布;b) 以ppb为单位的甲烷(灰色)、乙酸(蓝色)、乙醇(橙色)和甲苯(黄色)混合比以及飞机高度(红色)与时间的函数关系。虚线区域与图2a中显示的区域相对应。羽流1中乙酸、乙醇和甲苯数据点缺失的原因是Vocus Elf仪器在改该间点进行了规定的仪器背景测量 

用于甲烷源溯源的Vocus B走航车 

Tofwerk提供不同型号的化学电离质谱仪,可有效测量各种类别的有机和无机化合物。TOFWERK为科罗拉多州公共卫生和环境部 (CDPHE) 设计的一辆移动实验车配备了两款化学电离质谱仪Vocus Eiger和Vocus B、一个气象站和Picarro甲烷分析仪,它们于2023年夏季投入使用,用于调查垃圾填埋场的排放情况。有关该移动车开发的更多详情,请参阅我们的Vocus移动实验室:垃圾填埋场臭味案例研究应用说明。在某次走航监测中,我们能够区分来自垃圾填埋场和邻近奶牛场的甲烷排放事件。图3a显示的是在科罗拉多前沿地区试车时获得的甲烷混合比时间序列。利用Vocus仪器进行的挥发性有机化合物(VOC)和挥发性有机无机化合物(VIC)测量,我们能够将区域1中的甲烷排放归因于垃圾填埋场(图 3b),将区域2中的甲烷排放归因于奶牛场(图 3c)。 

移动实验室配备了Vocus TWeb MOBILE软件,可将来自两台质谱仪、Picarro H2S和CH4分析仪以及气象站(包括风速和风向)的数据整理成一个数据集。整理后的数据集可在驾驶过程中在同一个屏幕上展示和查看(图 1),从而简化了后处理工作,并便于比较来自不同仪器的数据(图 2)。选定污染物的浓度会实时显示在地图上,便于识别和溯源污染源。此外,Tweb MOBILE的数据流还可集成和实时上传到第三方软件中。 

Figure 3. a) A Google Earth image with methane mixing ratios in part-per-million (ppm) measured near a landfill and dairy farm during a test drive with a mobile laboratory van in the Colorado Front Range and b) concentration in ppb as a function of drive time for toluene (orange) measured by a Vocus Eiger, methane (blue) measured by a Picarro analyzer, and acetic acid (yellow) measured by a Vocus Aim “B” near a landfill and c) concentration in ppb as a function of drive time for lactic acid (blue) measured by a Vocus Aim “B”, toluene (orange) measured by  a Vocus Eiger PTR, methane (brown) measured by a Picarro analyzer, and ammonia (green) measured by a Vocus Aim “B” near a dairy farm.
图 3. a)在科罗拉多前沿山脉的一个垃圾填埋场和奶牛场附近使用走航车运行期间测得的甲烷浓度分布;b) Vocus Eiger测得的甲苯(橙色)、Picarro 分析仪测量的甲烷(蓝色)的ppb浓度与行驶时间的函数关系、 c) Vocus B测得的乳酸(蓝色)、Vocus Eiger测量的甲苯(橙色)、Picarro分析仪测量的甲烷(棕色)和奶牛场附近Vocus B测量的氨气(绿色)的浓度(ppb)与行驶时间的函数关系。 

结论 

本应用展示了TOFWERK Vocus化学电离质谱仪在航测和车载移动平台上的成功部署,并强调了这些测量在精确识别甲烷来源的实用性。进行移动平台上同期测的挥发性有机化合物和无机化合物结果,可精确识别石油和天然气作业、垃圾填埋场和农业等不同行业的甲烷来源。随着甲烷减排、监管和合规工作的不断发展,准确识别甲烷源将会变得越来越重要。此外,本文方法还可应用于其他空气污染物或与不利空气质量相关的问题。除甲烷外,在检测各种工业和农业流程产生的恶臭异味气体、描述城市污染以辨别特定有毒物种的暴露水平,或根据其独特的化学特征区分柴油和汽油发动机排放物时,基于呈现的数据进行准确溯源也变得至关重要。这种适应性方法可在环境保护工作中发挥关键作用,使监管和缓解战略提供更加即时,更准确的数据支撑。 

参考文献

[1] Yuan, Bin, et al. “Emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs): chemical compositions and separation of sources.” Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 17.8 (2017): 4945-4956.

了解更多

Search
Close this search box.

Mobile Monitoring Platforms for Methane Source Identification

Maya Abou-Ghanem, Abigail Koss, Omar El Hajj, & Veronika Pospisilova
TOFWERK USA

Over the past two centuries, the global atmospheric concentration of methane (CH4), a potent greenhouse gas (GHG) with global warming potential of 80 times that of carbon dioxide (CO2), has more than doubled. This increase can be attributed directly to human activities since methane emissions originate from the production and transportation of fossil fuels, agricultural practice, and the decomposition of organic waste in landfills.

Methane’s short atmospheric lifetime relative to CO2, coupled with its high potency to warm Earth’s climate, makes it a prime target for climate change mitigation strategies. As a result, numerous regional and global initiatives are focused on methane monitoring and reduction. Quick action to control methane emissions can yield a relatively fast response in terms of climate benefits, making it an important element to meet international climate goals, such as those set by the Paris Agreement. Nonetheless, the variety of methane emission sources introduces challenges when attempting to pinpoint the most critical regional contributors when using methane sensors alone. However, methane is often co-emitted with source-specific volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and volatile inorganic compounds (VICs) that can be used to help identify methane emission source regions.

Vocus Elf Aircraft Platforms for Methane Source Identification

During October and November of 2023, TOFWERK collaborated on an ongoing project with the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR) at CU Boulder and the University of Maryland funded by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment to identify oil and gas emissions in the Colorado Front Range on a small aircraft platform. Colorado is home to more than 40,000 active oil and natural gas wells and over 200 concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOS) with many of these facilities centered around the Front Range. Both industries can contribute to the emission of methane, which makes source identification particularly challenging in this region. Here, we demonstrate a robust method for methane source identification by coupling methane measurements from a cavity ring-down Picarro analyzer with TOFWERK’s Vocus Elf. This compact and portable mass spectrometer, which is capable of real-time analysis of VOCs with ultra-low limits of detection, was deployed for airborne measurements on a twin-engine Cessna aircraft.

Airborne data obtained from Vocus Elf PTR-MS demonstrated that enhancements in methane concentration were often correlated with enhancements in VOC levels. The combination of this information can be used to identify the source of methane emissions. Figure 1 shows the mixing ratio time series of methane during a flight over Piceance Basin where we observe multiple methane plumes within a small geographical region. Using our Vocus Elf PTR-MS, we demonstrate that these methane plumes are also associated with aromatic VOC compounds, including trimethylbenzene, xylenes, and toluene, which suggests these emissions originated from oil and gas operations. Each pollution plume also is compositionally unique; for example, the relative ratio of trimethyl benzene to toluene in plume 1 is lower than in plume 2. These results indicate that methane is being emitted from multiple sources within the region and that the pollution plumes from these sources are also compositionally different.

Figure 1. a) parts-per-billion (ppb) mixing ratio of methane overlayed onto a Google Earth image of a flight taken over Piceance Basin and b) mixing ratios in ppb of methane (grey), trimethylbenzene (blue), xylenes (orange), and toluene (yellow), as well as the aircraft’s altitude (red) as a function of time. The dotted regions correspond to the methane enhancements observed in Figure 1a.
Figure 1. a) parts-per-billion (ppb) mixing ratio of methane overlaid onto a Google Earth image of a flight taken over Piceance Basin and b) mixing ratios in ppb of methane (grey), trimethylbenzene (blue), xylenes (orange), and toluene (yellow), as well as the aircraft’s altitude (red) as a function of time. The dotted regions correspond to the methane enhancements observed in Figure 1a.

Other events of methane enhancements were near CAFOs and correlated with acetic acid, ethanol, and toluene (Figure 2). Some of these VOC combinations have been previously reported near CAFOs [1], which suggests the methane observed in this region originates from agricultural sources.

Figure 2. a) Methane mixing ratios in ppb overlaid onto a Google Earth image of a flight taken over the Colorado Front Range and b) mixing ratios in ppb of methane (grey), acetic acid (blue), ethanol (orange), and toluene (yellow), as well as the aircraft’s altitude (red) as a function of time. The dotted region corresponds to the region shown in Figure 2a. The missing data points for acetic acid, ethanol, and toluene in plume 1 is attributed to the instrument conducting a routine background measurement during those instances.

Vocus Eiger and Vocus B Mobile Laboratory Van Platform for Methane Source Identification

TOFWERK offers different models of chemical ionization mass spectrometers tailored to measuring various compounds classes effectively. A mobile laboratory van designed for the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) equipped with two chemical ionization mass spectrometer models, the Vocus Eiger and Vocus B, a weather station and Picarro methane analyzer, was deployed for investigation of landfill emissions in the summer 2023. More details on the development of this mobile van can be found in our Vocus Mobile Laboratory: landfill odor case study application note. During this test deployment, we were able to distinguish methane emissions from a landfill and adjacent dairy farm. Figure 3a shows a time series of the methane mixing ratio obtained during a test drive in the Colorado Front Range. Using VOC and VIC measurements made by our Vocus instruments, we were able to attribute methane emissions in region 1 to landfills (Figure 3b) and region 2 to the dairy farm (Figure 3c).

The mobile lab is equipped with Vocus TWeb MOBILE software, which collates data from the two mass spectrometers, the Picarro H2S and CH4 analyzer, and the weather station (including wind speed and direction) into a single data set. The collated dataset can then be viewed on a single screen while driving (Figure 1), which simplifies post processing and facilitates comparisons of the data from different instruments (Figure 2). The concentrations of selected pollutants are depicted in real time on a map, facilitating identification and sources allocation. Furthermore, the data stream from Tweb MOBILE is also available for integration into third-party software. 

Figure 3. a) A Google Earth image with methane mixing ratios in part-per-million (ppm) measured near a landfill and dairy farm during a test drive with a mobile laboratory van in the Colorado Front Range and b) concentration in ppb as a function of drive time for toluene (orange) measured by a Vocus Eiger, methane (blue) measured by a Picarro analyzer, and acetic acid (yellow) measured by a Vocus Aim “B” near a landfill and c) concentration in ppb as a function of drive time for lactic acid (blue) measured by a Vocus Aim “B”, toluene (orange) measured by  a Vocus Eiger PTR, methane (brown) measured by a Picarro analyzer, and ammonia (green) measured by a Vocus Aim “B” near a dairy farm.
Figure 3: a) A Google Earth image with methane mixing ratios in part-per-million (ppm) measured near a landfill and dairy farm during a test drive with a mobile laboratory van in the Colorado Front Range and b) concentration in ppb as a function of drive time for toluene (orange) measured by a Vocus Eiger, methane (blue) measured by a Picarro analyzer, and acetic acid (yellow) measured by a Vocus B near a landfill and c) concentration in ppb as a function of drive time for lactic acid (blue) measured by a Vocus Aim “B”, toluene (orange) measured by  a Vocus Eiger, methane (brown) measured by a Picarro analyzer, and ammonia (green) measured by a Vocus B near a dairy farm.

Conclusion

This application note demonstrates successful deployment of a suite of TOFWERK’s Vocus chemical ionization mass spectrometers on mobile platforms and highlights the utility of these measurements for methane source identification. Our innovative approach utilizes both aircraft and vehicle platforms to conduct mobile VOC and VIC measurements, enabling precise identification of methane sources across diverse industries such as oil and gas operations, landfills, and agricultural practices. As the landscape of methane reduction, regulation, and compliance evolves, accurate source identification becomes increasingly crucial. Further, this innovative approach could be applied to other airborne pollutants or issues linked to adverse air quality. Beyond methane, source apportionment based on presented data can become essential in detecting odors emanating from various industrial and agricultural processes, characterizing urban pollution to discern levels of specific toxics, or distinguishing between diesel and gasoline vehicle emissions based on their unique chemical signatures. This adaptive methodology could play a critical role in environmental protection efforts, enabling more informed and responsive strategies for regulation and mitigation.

References

[1] Yuan, Bin, et al. “Emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs): chemical compositions and separation of sources.” Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 17.8 (2017): 4945-4956.