pgaTOF质谱仪助力原子层沉积ALD过程的监测、表征和优化

Atomic Layer Deposition App Note (2)

Ben Bensaoula
图恩,瑞士

引言

原子层沉积(ALD)正迅速成为各种薄膜材料的标准制造技术,也是当今半导体领域的重要工具。ALD技术通过两种气态反应物在顺序模式下的‘自限性’表面反应,实现对薄膜厚度和形态的亚纳米级控制,同时适用具有复杂3D几何形状的衬底。沉积薄膜的物理-化学性质主要取决于表面分解反应和薄膜生长机制。因此,非常重要的是必须首先充分表征和了解反应过程,然后利用恰当测量工具,实现生产环境下的实时监测和控制, 从而达到优化参数或缩短生产过程,提升生产效率和晶圆产率的目的

pgaTOF质谱仪在ALD工艺中的应用

本应用说明介绍了如何将一种新型飞行时间质谱仪,TOFWERK pgaTOF,集成在原子层沉积系统(SC-1,Swiss Cluster AG)中,以实时监测薄膜生成过程。pgaTOF质谱仪能够以超高分辨率、高于五个数量级的动态范围和高达1 kHz的质谱采集速率同时检测所有离子。因为pgaTOF质谱仪数据采集是原位进行,所以可以即时监测ALD工艺参数所施加的影响,从而立即修改优化工艺实验条件(如温度和脉冲/吹扫时间)。此外,还可以及时给出工艺偏离最佳条件或设备发生故障的情况。相比之下,常见的离线/事后剖析(非原位)化学和结构表征方法具有明显的延迟性,凸显了通过pgaTOF质谱仪的原位数据采集方式的巨大优势。

实验设置

原子层沉积(ALD)过程是使用一种新颖的紧凑型SC-1集成系统完成的,该系统可以将ALD与PVD过程结合进行。本研究仅使用了SC-1系统的ALD模块。衬底温度设置为120 ºC。所使用的原材料为三甲基铝(TMA,化学式为Al(CH3)3,纯度98%,来自Strem)和去离子水蒸气(H2O)。这两种前体气体通常用于沉积Al2O3,一种ALD的常用参考系统。该过程的化学特性已在众多研究中得到广泛分析,并用于解读本文结果。在室温下将两种气体前体输送到沉积室,并使用纯度为99.9995%的氩气作为吹扫气体。CH4

实验过程由20次ALD循环组成。每次循环包括无Ar载气吹扫的50毫秒的TMA脉冲和30毫秒的H2O脉冲,目的在于将目标气体引入沉积室。在两次前体气体脉冲之间,进行30秒时间的50 sccm氩气吹扫

结果

如图1所示,在ALD工艺中,依次引入的前体气体与表面之间的反应导致多种副产物的释放。这些副产物的化学特性和浓度提供有关反应机制的重要信息,并提供监测方案开发思路,以在工业规模下实现可靠性和可重复较高的ALD工艺

图1. TMA+H2O沉积过程及该过程中涉及的所有分子的并行检测示意图。在此示例中,TMA与表面的羟基OH位点发生反应,形成CH4;吹扫步骤过后,H2O与甲基表面发生反应,除生成AlOH((CH3)2等副产物外,主要产物仍是CH4

研究表明,使用TMA和H2O进行的Al2O3沉积工艺过程可以基于pgaTOF全谱图信号分布进行详细表征,信号分布主要在m/Q = 16 Th、18 Th、27 Th和40 Th,分别对应于TMA中的Al(27 Th)、H2O(18 Th)、产物CH4(16 Th)和Ar载气(40 Th)。如图2所示,由于能够同时全谱检测到所有质量数,使我们能够观察到以前未检测到的其他副产物,并且如果没有pgaTOF质谱仪的高质量分辨率和准确性,将难以识别这些副产物。

图2. 在整个ALD过程中采集的质谱,由后续20个依次进行的TMA和H2O脉冲循环组成:a) 完整质谱谱图:m/Q < 290 Th的区间内观察到较强信号,但同时还观测到质荷比超过300的离子,b) 对数刻度的放大质谱区域,包含反应前体物和众多副产物信号

如图3所示,pgaTOF质谱仪功能的另一个重要特点在于能够监测反应器中存在的所有物质随时间的强度变化。图4显示了指标性的27Al信号的信号分布,即TMA阀门打开时27Al时间序列信号的峰值振幅及其半峰宽(FWHM)。上述两个值的变化表明,输送的TMA量在不同脉冲批次间存在些许变化。虽然ALD工艺具有自限性,并且过量的TMA前体气体并不会导致沉积厚度增加,但我们仍可以优化前体气体的消耗量。值得注意的是,当以异质结构的沉积为目标时,比预期较低的前体气体输送量将产生不均匀单层沉积,导致粗糙的表面形态和不太理想的界面。因此,使用pgaTOF质谱仪实时量化ALD工艺的多次循环再现性,在工艺优化(研发阶段)和生产过程中及其重要。

图3. 在线集成在ALD系统内的pgaTOF质谱仪提供独特可以全程监测参与ALD过程的所有元素和分子,即前体物和全部产物,随时间的信号演变的强大检测平台。H2O(蓝线)和TMA中Al(红线)信号代表前体气体,而N(绿线)和Ar(紫线)信号提供沉积室状态方面的信息。图中显示了20次循环沉积过程的时间演变(a)以及前三个TMA和H2O脉冲的局部放大图(b)。为了提升视觉效果,我们将pgaTOF数据归一化为1
图4. 不连续TMA间隔脉冲批次中测得的Al信号时间序列变化。峰高值(SAl,max,height@TMA和宽度值(SAl,max,width@TMA)变化可以体现前体气体所输送前体气体量的变化,因此可以定量表征实现ALD 工艺多次循环的再现性

结论

如上所述,在ALD系统中集成pgaTOF质谱仪,可以同时实时检测到所有反应过程中的带电分子和碎片。因此,我们可以在工艺早期阶段检测到任何工艺偏离最佳条件或设备发生故障的情况,从而可以立即校正沉积工艺参数,如气体前体温度、脉冲持续时间和压力,以确保实现预期薄膜化学结构的沉积过程。

pgaTOF质谱仪的原位在线分析功能在ALD工艺中所具备的独特优势也可以扩展到其他种气态沉积技术(如化学气相沉积)以及蚀刻应用,以监测、优化和控制工艺过程。作为反应终点检测(EPD)技术,可以应用于较为复杂的界面,如涉及二元、三元和四元合金的过渡。此外,高速采集对于以脉冲模式运行的输送源以及涉及纳米层堆叠沉积和蚀刻的工艺状态实时监控至关重要。在需要准确在复杂气态基体中的分析化学组分并定量其随时间变化的其他半导体工艺中,pgaTOF质谱仪也可以广泛用作监测工具。

致谢

特此感谢EMPA Eidg(图恩)和Swiss Cluster(图恩)为本应用中展示的数据收集和分析而做的贡献。


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Monitoring, Characterization and Optimization of Atomic Layer Deposition Processes with the pgaTOF

Ben Bensaoula
Thun, Switzerland

Introduction

Atomic layer deposition (ALD) is rapidly becoming a standard technique for a wide range of thin film materials and is an essential tool in the semiconductor sector. ALD relies on self-limiting surface reactions of two gaseous reactants in sequential mode to obtain sub-nanometer control of the thickness and conformality of a thin film, even on substrates with complex 3D geometries. The physicochemical properties of the deposited films depend mainly on surface decomposition reactions and growth mechanisms. Therefore, it is important to fully characterize and understand these processes and utilize metrology tools that shorten the process optimization cycle and provide real-time monitoring and control in a production environment.

pgaTOF for ALD

This application note presents the integration of a new time-of-flight mass spectrometer, the TOFWERK pgaTOF, in an atomic layer deposition system (SC-1, from Swiss Cluster AG, Thun, Switzerland) for real-time monitoring of thin film fabrication processes. The pgaTOF simultaneously detects all ionized molecules with isotopic resolution, greater than 105 dynamic range, and mass spectral acquisition rates up to 1 kHz. Because the chemical data acquisition is conducted in-situ, the results of applied deposition parameters can be monitored instantly, allowing for immediate modifications of the process experimental conditions like temperature and pulsing/purging times.  In addition, any process excursion from optimal conditions or equipment malfunction is also detected. This in-situ acquisition with the pgaTOF is a great advantage over post-mortem (ex-situ) chemical and structural characterization methods, which are characterized with significant delays.

Experimental Set Up

The ALD process was performed using a novel compact cluster system, SC-1, which combines ALD and PVD. This study used only the ALD module of the SC-1. The substrate temperature was set to 120 °C. Trimethylaluminium, Al(CH3)3 (TMA, 98 % purity, from Strem) and DI H2O were used. These two gas precursors are commonly used for depositing Al2O3, a model ALD system. The chemistry of this process has been broadly analyzed in numerous studies and served for the evaluation of results presented in this work. Both precursors were delivered at room temperature to the deposition chamber and 99.9995% purity argon (from Air Liquide) was used as the purging gas.

The experiments consisted of 20 ALD cycles. Each cycle included a 50 ms pulse of TMA and a 30 ms pulse of H2O without Ar carrier gas, aiming that only the gases of interest are introduced to the chamber. Between the gas precursor pulses, a 50 sccm argon gas purge over 30 s was provided.

Results

In ALD, the reactions between the sequentially introduced gas precursors and the surface led to the release of by-products as described in Figure 1. The chemistry and amount of these by-products provide important information on the fundamental reaction mechanisms and give isight for the development of monitoring protocols for reliable and reproducible processes at an industrial scale.

Figure 1. Schematic illustration of a TMA+H2O deposition process and the parallel detection of all the molecules involved in the process. In this example, TMA reacts with OH sites at the surface, forming CH4, and after a purging step, the H2O reacts with the methyl surface, forming mainly CH4 in addition to secondary products such as AlOH(CH3)2.

We show that the Al2O3 deposition using TMA and H2O can be characterized based on the signal distributions measured mainly at m/Q = 16 Th, 18 Th, 27 Th, and 40 Th, corresponding to the TMA Al (27 Th), H2O (18 Th), the by-product CH4 (16 Th) and the Ar carrier gas (40 Th). However, the ability to detect all masses simultaneously, as shown in Figure 2, allowed us to observe additional by-products that were not previously detected and, without the high mass resolution and accuracy of the pgaTOF, would have been difficult to identify otherwise.

Figure 2. The mass spectrum acquired during the entire ALD process consisting of 20 subsequent series of TMA and H2O cycles: a) the full mass spectrum: the strongest signals were observed in the case of process reactants having m/Q < 290 Th, but heavier ions were also detected, b) a selected region of the mass spectrum with assigned potential reaction substrates and by-products. Note the logarithmic scale.

Another important feature afforded by the pgaTOF capabilities is the ability to monitor the time variation of all species present in the reactor, as demonstrated in Figure 3.  Figure 4 shows the measured characteristic values of the 27Al signal distribution, i.e., the 27Al signal peak amplitudes when the TMA valve was open, and their full widths at half maximum (FWHM). The variations of these two values indicate that the amount of delivered TMA varied between cycles. Although the ALD process is self-limiting and the excess of the TMA precursor does not induce an increase in the layer thickness, precursor consumption can be optimized. By contrast, a lower precursor amount will yield partial monolayer deposition and result in a rough surface morphology and less than ideal interfaces when deposition of a heterostructure is the goal. As such the real-time quantification of cycle-to-cycle ALD process reproducibility, made possible with the pgaTOF, is important in both process optimization (R&D) and production.

Figure 3. An in situ pgaTOF integrated within an ALD chamber gives a unique opportunity of monitoring the time evolution of all elements and molecules participating in an ALD process, including products and by-products. The H2O (blue line) and Al (red line) signals represent the gas precursors, whilst N (green line) and Ar (violet line) signals provide information on the vacuum status of the deposition chamber. The time evolution of the 20-cycle deposition process (a) and magnification of the first three TMA and H2O cycles (b) are shown. The pgaTOF data were normalized to 1 for better visualization.
Figure 4. Comparison of Al signal peaks measured during successive TMA injections. The variations of peak height, SAl,max,height@TMA, and width, SAl,max,width@TMA, values provide an indication of amount of delivered gas precursor variation, and therefore the cycle-to-cycle ALD process reproducibility.

Conclusion

As presented in this application note, incorporating a pgaTOF within an ALD system allows for simultaneous, real-time detection of all ionized molecules and fragments. Therefore, any process deviation from optimal or malfunction can be detected at an early stage, and consequently the deposition parameters, such as precursor temperature, pulse duration and pressure can be corrected immediately to ensure deposition of the intended thin film chemical structure.

The advantages of in situ pgaTOF analysis for this ALD process will extend to other deposition techniques, such as chemical vapor deposition and to etch applications for process optimization, monitoring and control. End-point detection could be implemented for complex interfaces such as transitions involving binary, ternary and quaternary alloys. Furthermore, the high acquisition speed is critical for sources operating in pulsed modes and processes involving deposition and etch of nanolayered stacks.  The pgaTOF can be broadly applied as a monitoring tool in other semiconductor processes, where chemical species in complex gaseous environments need to be accurately assigned and their time variation measured.   

Acknowledgment

We would like to thank EMPA Eidg (Thun) and Swiss Cluster (Thun) for their data collection and analysis contributions to this application note.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
ASK A QUESTION
close slider
Side Ask Us a Question Pop Up

We would like to hear from you. Please send us a message by filling out the form below or email mail@tofwerk.com, and we will get back with you shortly.