pgaTOF质谱仪实时洞察自发型及等离子增强型硅蚀刻工艺

real-time monitoring of etch processes (1)

引言

光谱法和质谱法是用于表征和监控半导体刻蚀工艺过程的常见分析方法。光学技术具有非侵入性优势,因此在生产环境中具有一定的可取性,但并不能适用于所有化学过程和反应材料。相比之下,质谱法功能更为强大,可用于任何工艺气体的分析。通常用户在集成质谱仪时需要仔细考虑工艺流程、压力和反应时间等方面的差异,而传统四极质谱仪(即残留气体分析仪,简称“RGA”)的面世某种程度上克服了这些限制因素。伴随着新一代更高性能芯片的设计和制造需求,半导体业者需要在高度复杂、多达上百次的多种工艺中整合更多,尺度更小的薄膜材料。RGA质谱仪因检测质量范围受限,且质量分辨率和灵敏度较低,已经不能够完全应对先进制程中的分析需求挑战。

 

TOFWERK工艺气体分析仪pgaTOF

TOFWERK公司新推出的pgaTOF是一款在线分析的电子碰撞电离(EI)飞行时间质谱仪,专为克服RGA质谱仪的局限性而开发。pgaTOF质谱仪能够以超高质量分辨率、超过五个数量级的动态范围和高达1000Hz的质谱采集速率同时检测所有电离分子及元素。仪器可用于监测所有工艺气体和蚀刻主副产物,指导工艺过程质控,并为实时或后续统计分析提供关键信息。从而可即时修改工艺参数,包括优化气体流速和相对比例,监测衬底温度,以及及时警报工艺偏移最佳条件或设备发生故障等异常情况。

 

自发型和等离子增强型硅蚀刻工艺

在使用pgaTOF质谱仪进行验证蚀刻实验中,我们对以下两种业界有较多研究的半导体相关化学反应进行了系统性考察,即:XeF2化学反应下的自发型硅蚀刻和CF4/O2化学反应下的等离子硅蚀刻。

pgaTOF质谱仪通过约1米长的波纹管连接到蚀刻工艺反应器。在自发型蚀刻情况下,pgaTOF质谱仪直接连接到反应器室。在等离子蚀刻系统中,pgaTOF质谱仪则在前级泵层面进行连接。工艺过程压力变化范围约为3-400 mTorr(≈ mbar),样品气体温度范围为20 ºC至略高于200 ºC。

XeF2和CF4/O2条件下的预期蚀刻反应机理如下所示。在纯CF4等离子体中,非挥发性碳化合物将积聚在样品表面,阻碍表面上的化学反应,并导致蚀刻速率降低和表面粗糙。通过向蚀刻气体中添加O2,将促使非挥发性化合物发生氧化反应,形成CO2,从而提高蚀刻速率。

XeF2中的自发硅蚀刻

使用XeF2进行硅蚀刻
(1) XeF2 -> XeF + F -> Xe + F2 ; Si + 2 F2 -> SiF4

CF4和CF4/O2化学反应中的等离子硅蚀

下面显示了纯CF4等离子体(2)和CF4/O2混合物(3)中的硅蚀刻反应
(2) Si + CF4 -> SiF4 + C 
(3) Si + CF4 + O2 -> SiF4 + CO2

实验结果

使用XeF2进行硅蚀刻

将硅衬底样品(约3 平方厘米)装载入原子层沉积(ALD)反应器中,该反应器配有XeF2注入源,具有可变脉冲功能,并以氦气作为载气。

图1显示了所有相关物质的信号及它们在XeF2脉冲引入反应器后随时间的变化趋势。图2显示了不同XeF2脉冲宽度下的重复试验数据。图2中的详细数据分析表明,我们可以实时优化蚀刻气体通量及所产生的副产物。同理,这表明在ALD情况下,并且更重要的是在原子层蚀刻工艺中,我们能够确定在启动下一个工艺周期前完全清除副产物所需的最佳时间。此外,在工艺开发和优化过程中,这种能力使我们能够检测出从蚀刻速率限制模式到负载限制条件的过渡。一个重要的观察结果是,尽管蚀刻样本量非常小,但我们可以测得的所有物质信号都较明显。根据之前的蚀刻反应结果和已发表的文献,在本文试验的工艺条件下,蚀刻速率预计将明显小于每秒一个分子单层。最后,借助pgaTOF质谱仪的飞行时间质谱的全谱采集能力,所有化合物(无论是否在预期目标物清单内)都将被记录和存储,用于离线回溯分析、深入解读和讨论

 

 

图1:使用XeF2进行自发性蚀刻硅。图1a(上图)和1b(下图)显示,以脉冲模式引入蚀刻气体时(载气为Ar,时长为100毫秒,压力为0.5毫巴),信号最强的几种蚀刻物质信号随时间的演变情况。

 

 

图2.使用XeF2进行自发硅蚀刻,该图显示,当使用不同时长的脉冲(载气为Ar,压力为0.5毫巴)引入蚀刻气体时,信号最强的几种蚀刻物质信号随时间的变化情况

 

CF4/O2化学混合物中的反应离子硅蚀刻

我们在微波等离子体蚀刻器和标准反应离子蚀刻室(RIE)中也都进行了相应的实验。在这两种情况下,均仅使用数平方厘米大小的硅衬底,并使用纯CF4溶液和CF4/O2蚀刻混合物在不同的压力和衬底温度下运行蚀刻试验

图3显示了典型的纯CF4 RIE蚀刻下的低质量数质谱谱图。值得注意的是,尽管使用的是简单的蚀刻化学物和最基本的硅衬底,但采集到的谱图上仍有非常密集的峰分布

图4显示了当等离子体开启和关闭以及CF4等离子体中的O2含量增加时,质谱图中相关物质信号时序变化。

 

图3.在纯CF4等离子体中进行硅蚀刻期间的典型谱图(400 W,100 sccm CF4

 

图4.在CF4RIE工艺过程中,等离子体和蚀刻产物信号随时间的演变情况,清楚地展示了O2的添加对蚀刻速率的影响。a.(上图)功率:400 W,100 sccm CF4,O2流量(0,20 sccm),b.(下图)功率:400 W,100 sccm CF4,O2流量(0、20、40和60 sccm)。

正如预期的那样,蚀刻产物信号强度随着O2添加量的增加而显著增加,最终在O2添加量为~ 40 sccm时达到最大值(图3b),随后,由于活性物质的稀释,蚀刻产物信号强度相应降低。有趣的是, O2流速的微小变化,也在观察到的蚀刻产物信号被‘放大’成一定幅度的振荡信号。当超过O2最佳流速(最大蚀刻速率)并进入反应性物质缺乏状态时,这种振荡变得更为明显。这种因为O2流速不稳所带来的信号震荡在厚层蚀刻应用中可能不重要,但在处理纳米尺度的结构器件时将需要进行相应纠正和改进

pgaTOF质谱仪能够以高质量精度记录所有化合物和同位素分布情况

正如这个示例实验所证明的那样,即使是最简单的蚀刻化学物质(即:CF4等离子体中的硅),也会产生复杂的谱图,其中所观察到的峰定性分析并非总是容易或者可能实现。

为此,如图3中红色圆圈内的高亮显示,我们希望通过识别47 Th质量数的峰,来给读者展示即使知道蚀刻气体组分情况下,主/副产物的组分分析这一挑战的难度。对于纯CF4等离子体化学物质和硅衬底,唯一可能的产物种类应当是输入蚀刻气体与衬底原子(C、F和Si)的组合。

通过pgaTOF质谱仪软件的组分查找功能,其显示对应46.974 Th(与测得峰值的质量偏差为383 ppm),蚀刻产物被鉴别为为SiF+,我们暂且将其作为一种可能性。然而,TOF全谱采集功能检测虽小但可测量的O2信号,也就意味着可能的产物种类扩展到含氧化合物。通过进一步的组分查找显示,在46.992 Th条件下(与测得峰值的质量偏差为0.2 ppm),蚀刻产物为CFO+ ,从精确质量匹配这个角度而言,这是相对于之前SiF+是更为精准的鉴别。

在这种情况下,47 Th对应的峰能否精确鉴别,不仅能更好了解蚀刻化学机理和过程,但更重要的是可以确定工艺链条完整性是否可接受;SiF+是预期的蚀刻产物,而CFO+是意料之外的杂质。如图5.a所示,为进一步增加定性鉴别的准确性,我们查看了上述两种可能产物种类对应的C13同位素分布及其与实验模式的匹配情况。图5.b显示了两种产物种类的碳13同位素分布。很显然,仅CFO+呈现出良好的匹配。综上所述,在47 Th对应峰值可以明确鉴别为 CFO+,这表明可能存在微量的氧气泄漏(O2流量计或外部源)或其他污染源

 

图5. 利用pgaTOF的高质量精度对纯CF4等离子体硅蚀刻期间采集的谱图中47Th位置的峰进行鉴别(左图);以及两种可能产物种类的精确质量和对应的的C13同位素分布(右图)。

 

结论

本文结果清楚表明,以最低侵入方式将移动式pgaTOF质谱仪连接到蚀刻反应器,哪怕对于最简单的蚀刻化学物质(CF4/O2)和最基本的衬底(Si)这一基本搭配,也可以提供重要的,不曾预期的工艺过程见解。此外,本研究还展示了pgaTOF质谱仪能够以高质量准确性和灵敏度实时监测所有无机和有机挥发性化合物,并对工艺变化实现亚秒级响应及检测。pgaTOF质谱仪能够以非常高的质量精度和高质量分辨率测量质量这一功能,对于准确的定性识别蚀刻产物至关重要。所有蚀刻产物种类和浓度信息的现场测量使我们既能实现反应器健康状况在线评估,同时也能通过离线数据分析,进行进一步工艺优化和故障分析

 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Real-Time Insight into Spontaneous and Plasma Enhanced Si Etching Processes with the pgaTOF

real-time monitoring of etch processes (1)

Introduction

Optical spectroscopy and mass spectrometry are the primary technologies used for etch process characterization and monitoring. Optical techniques are desirable in production settings because of their non-invasive nature, but they are applicable only in specific cases and cannot address all chemistries and materials. By contrast, mass spectrometry is a powerful technique for analysis of any process gas. Integrating mass spectrometers requires careful consideration of differences in process flow, pressure and reaction time scales. These constraints have previously been addressed using quadrupole mass spectrometers (residual gas analyzers, RGAs). However, as the semiconductor industry incorporates more materials in highly complex stacks for design of the next-generation chips, the limited mass range and low mass resolution and sensitivity of RGAs create a situation where they are no longer able to meet all the challenges of integration.

 

The TOFWERK Process Gas Analyzer

TOFWERK’s pgaTOF is an electron ionization time-of-flight mass spectrometer that was developed specifically to overcome the limitations of RGAs. The pgaTOF provides simultaneous detection of all ionized species with isotopic resolution, greater than 105 dynamic range and a mass spectral acquisition rates up to 1000 Hz. All process gas and etch products are monitored to guide process control action and to inform analytics and process intelligence. Immediate modifications of process conditions include optimizing flow rates and ratios, monitoring substrate temperature, or detection of process excursion from optimal conditions or malfunctions.

 

Spontaneous and Plasma Enhanced Etching of Silicon

In this proof-of-concept etch experiment with the pgaTOF, two well-studied, semiconductor-relevant chemistries were investigated – spontaneous Si etching in XeF2 and plasma etching of Si in a CF4/O2 chemistry.

The pgaTOF was connected to the process reactor through a ~1 meter bellow. In the spontaneous etch case, the pgaTOF was connected directly to the reactor chamber. For the plasma etch system, the pgaTOF was connected at the rough pump level. Process pressures were varied from approximately 3-400 mTorr (≈ mbar), with sample temperature ranging from 20 C to just over 200 C.

The expected etch reactions for both XeF2 and CF4/O2 conditions are shown below. Note that in a pure CF4 plasma, non-volatile carbon compounds accumulate on the sample surface, hindering surface chemistry and resulting in lower etch rates and rough surfaces.  Adding O2 to the etch gas results in the reaction of these non-volatile compounds and formation of CO2, greatly increasing the etch rate.

Spontaneous Etching of Si in XeF2

Si Etching with XeF2
(1) XeF2 -> XeF + F -> Xe + F2 ; Si + 2 F2 -> SiF4

Plasma Etching in a CF4 and CF4/O2 chemistry

Si etch reactions are shown below for a pure CF4 plasma (2) and (3) for a CF4/O2 mixture
(2) Si + CF4 -> SiF4 + C 
(3) Si + CF4 + O2 -> SiF4 + CO2

Experimental Results

Spontaneous Etch of Si with XeF2

Si samples (3 cm2) were inserted in an atomic layer deposition (ALD) reactor fitted with a XeF2 source with variable pulsing capability using Ar as a carrier gas.

Figure 1 shows all relevant species and their time variation as a XeF2 pulse is introduced in the reactor. Figure 2 displays the same data with varied pulse width. Detailed analysis of data in Figure 2 demonstrates that real-time optimization of the etch gas flux and resulting by-products is possible. Similarly, as in the ALD case, and more importantly in an atomic layer etching process, this points out the ability to determine the optimum time needed to purge out the by-products prior to initiating the next process cycle. Also, during process development and optimization such a capability permits detection of a transition from an etch-rate-limited mode to loading-limited conditions. An important observation is that despite the very small sample size, large signal counts are measured for all species. Based on previous results and published literature for this etch chemistry, etch rates significantly smaller than one monolayer per second are expected for these process conditions. Finally, with the time-of-flight technology of the pgaTOF all compounds  – whether known in advance or not – are recorded and stored for off-line analysis, understanding and forensics.

 

 

Figure 1: Spontaneous etching of silicon with XeF2. Figures 1a (top) and 1b (bottom) show the time evolution of the most abundant species as the etch gas is introduced in a pulsed mode (100ms and 0.5mbar in an Ar carrier gas).

 

 

Figure 2. Spontaneous etching of silicon with XeF2 showing the signal time variation of the most abundant species as the etch gas is introduced using pulses of different duration (0.5mbar in an Ar carrier gas).

 

Reactive Ion Etching of Si in a CF4/O2 Chemistry

Experiments were conducted in both a downstream microwave plasma etcher and a standard reactive ion etch chamber (RIE). In both cases, only cm-sized Si substrates were utilized. Runs using both pure CF4 and CF4/O2 etch mixtures were performed at varying pressures and substrate temperatures.

Figure 3 displays  typical low-mass data for a pure CF4 RIE etch run. Despite the simple etch chemistry and the most basic substrate, the collected spectrum is dense with peaks.

Figure 4 shows the time dependence of relevant species in the mass spectrum as the plasma is turned on and off and the O2 content in the CF4 plasma is increased.

 

Figure 3. Typical spectrum during a Si etch run in a pure CF4 plasma (400 W, 100 sccm CF4)

 

Figure 4. Time evolution of plasma and etch product species during a CF4 RIE process showing the effect of O2 addition on the etch rate. a. (top) Power: 400 W, 100 sccm CF4, variable flow of O2 (0, 20 sccm), b. (bottom) Power: 400 W, 100 sccm CF4, variable flow of O2 (0, 20, 40 and 60 sccm).

As expected, the abundance of etch products significantly increases with O2 content but ultimately reaches a maximum at ~ 40 sccm (figure 3b) and decreases beyond that value due to reactive species dilution. Of interest, as a result of small variations in O2 flow rates, we observe measurable oscillations in the etch product signal which become significant as we go beyond the optimum O2 concentration (max etch rate) and move into the reactive species deficient regime. Such behavior is probably not critical in thick layer etching but would need to be corrected for when processing nanostructured devices.

pgaTOF Records All Compounds and Isotopic Distributions with High Mass Accuracy

As demonstrated in this proof-of-principle example, even the simplest etch chemistry (i.e., Si in a CF4 plasma) yields complex mass spectra where assignment of the observed peaks is not always easy or possible.

To that end, we would like to illustrate the challenge to identifying the peak at 47 Th, as highlighted in Figure 3 within the red circle, to a specific etch gas or product specie. For the pure CF4 plasma chemistry and substrate at play, the only possible species should have combination of the input etch gas and substrate atomic constituents, C, F, and Si.

Using the composition finder function of the pgaTOF’s software gives the etch product SiF+, at 46.974 Th (383 ppm mass deviation from measured peak) as a possible assignment. Full mass spectral acquisition, however, allows detection of a small but measurable O2 signal which expands the possible species to oxygen containing compounds. The composition finder gives us CFO+ at 46.992 Th (0.2 ppm mass deviation from measure peak) as another match.

Assigning the correct specie to the peak at 47 Th in this case is paramount to better understanding of the etch chemistry but more importantly key to determining whether process integrity is acceptable or not; SiF+ being an expected etch product but CFO+ an unexpected impurity related specie. Figure 5.a summarizes these results. To further improve our mass assignment, we look at the isotopic distribution for the two possible species and their match to the experimental pattern. Fig 5.b shows the isotopic distribution for both species and it is evident that only CFO+ presents a good visual match. Armed with these two observations, the peak at ~ 47 Th is unambiguously assigned to CFO+ which can point to a possible leak (O2 flow meter or external) or other contamination sources.

 

Figure 5. Identification of peak at 47 Th in the spectrum acquired during Si etch in a pure CF4 plasma using the instrument’s high mass accuracy (left panel) and measured isotopic distribution peaks with expected position for the two possible species (right panel).

 

Conclusion

A mobile pgaTOF instrument connected to an etch reactor in a minimally invasive fashion has been shown to provide important process insights even for the simplest etch chemistry (CF4/O2) and the most basic substrate (Si). Demonstration of real-time monitoring of all volatile compounds with high mass accuracy and sensitivity and sub-second detection of process changes was shown. The pgaTOF’s ability to measure masses with very high accuracy and resolution is found to be critical in unambiguous species assignment. Intrinsic measurements of all species allows for on-line reactor health assessment and off-line data analysis for process optimization and failure analysis.

 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
ASK A QUESTION
close slider
Side Ask Us a Question Pop Up

We would like to hear from you. Please send us a message by filling out the form below or email mail@tofwerk.com, and we will get back with you shortly.