工业环境大气和日常消费品中含氟表面活性剂PFAS快速检测

Carla Frege
TOFWERK Switzerland

全氟/多氟烷烃物质(简称PFAS)是一类被广泛被工业界用来制造氟碳涂层的化学原料,在不粘锅,防火剂,防水包装,食品包装,外带饭盒,橡胶塑料制品,电器等各种各样家用产品都有涉及。因为PFAS物质化学性质非常稳定,在环境中有高度持久性,以及因此引起的生物链富集效应[1],和人类健康负面影响[2],近年来陆续受到了管控和公共健康部门的关注和监管。PFAS物种的检测难度相对较高,是因为在极低浓度(ppt)范围内,PFAS就可能对环境和动物/人类造成健康影响。再加上PFAS家族成员种类较多,分子结构多变,这些都对传统的检测方法贴上了‘PFAS不容易测到和测准’的标签。

TOFWERK搭配碘负离子的API-TOF质谱平台具有很好的PFAS物质检测能力。最近在检测的一些日常样品中,包含某个工业设施内的室内空气和某化妆品和食品包装的顶空气体,搭配碘离子的Vocus AIM化学电离-飞行时间质谱都有多种PFAS物质检出。

图1展示了在某睫毛膏顶空气体中检出的多种PFAS物种所对应的质谱图。PFAS在谱图上是以碘负离子加成物的形式出现的(M•I)。定性分析是基于精确质荷比和对应的同位素分布。因为PFAS中的高卤族含量,这些物种的谱图非常有指标性。

图1. 多种PFAS物质谱图。红色线条:实测谱图;蓝色谱图:对应物种的理论同位素分布

图2展示了工业环境大气中,防水睫毛膏顶空和爆米花样品顶空样品中各种PFAS物质的信号浓度高低。

图2. 工业环境大气中,防水睫毛膏顶空和爆米花样品顶空样品中各种PFAS物质的信号浓度对比。上述PFAS物种浓度估计在5-200 ppt范围内。

References

  1. ITRC (Interstate Technology & Regulatory Council). PFAS Technical and Regulatory Guidance Document and Fact Sheets PFAS-1: Environmental Fate and Transport Processes, 2021.  https://pfas-1.itrcweb.org/5-environmental-fate-and-transport-processes/
  2. Pelch et al. PFAS Database available at https://pfastoxdatabase.org/, 2021. DOI: 10.17605/OSF.10/F9UPX
  3. Riedel et al. Gas-Phase Detection of Fluorotelomer Alcohols and Other Oxygenated Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances by Chemical Ionization Mass Spectrometry. Environ. Sci. Technol. Lett., 2021. DOI: 10.1021/acs.estlett.9b00196
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Notes From the Field: Observations of PFAS in Industrial Air and Consumer Products

Carla Frege
TOFWERK Switzerland

Introduction

Polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a large and diverse group of compounds that are widely used in industry to make fluoropolymer coatings used in non-stick cookware, fire retardants, stain and water repellents, furniture, waterproof clothing, pizza boxes and take-out containers, food packaging, carpets and textiles, rubbers, plastics, electronics, dental floss, and other products. These compounds have recently come under scrutiny from regulatory and health agencies because they last an extremely long time in the environment, can travel and transfer from one system to another [1], and may cause serious health effects [2]. These substances are increasingly critical to measure because even exceptionally low concentrations (ppt level) may be relevant to environmental and health interests. Measuring low concentrations with varying structures and identities presents a challenge for traditional instrumentation.

Sensitive PFAS Detection

TOFWERK’s API-TOF with iodide reagent ion chemistry has been shown to detect PFAS compounds with remarkably high sensitivity [3]. Recently, we noticed PFAS signal in samples measured with the Vocus Aim CI-TOF; including ambient air samples from an industrial facility, and headspace samples from cosmetics and food packaging.

Figure 1 shows the mass spectral peaks of several PFAS detected in the headspace of mascara. The PFAS compounds are detected as the parent molecule M clustered with the iodide reagent ion (M•I-). The molecular identity is based on the chemical formula determined from precise mass-to-charge ratio measurement and confirmed using isotope patterns. Because of their high halogen content, PFAS have a unique mass spectral signature.

Figure 1. Mass spectra peaks of several PFAS. Red lines: measured spectrum, blue line: calculated isotopic fingerprint for each molecular cluster.

Figure 2 shows comparison of PFAS signals in industrial air, waterproof mascara sample headspace, and popcorn sample headspace.

Figure 2. Comparison of PFAS signals in industrial air, waterproof mascara sample headspace, and popcorn sample headspace. Estimated concentrations range from about 5 ppt to 200 ppt.

References

  1. ITRC (Interstate Technology & Regulatory Council). PFAS Technical and Regulatory Guidance Document and Fact Sheets PFAS-1: Environmental Fate and Transport Processes, 2021.  https://pfas-1.itrcweb.org/5-environmental-fate-and-transport-processes/
  2. Pelch et al. PFAS Database available at https://pfastoxdatabase.org/, 2021. DOI: 10.17605/OSF.10/F9UPX
  3. Riedel et al. Gas-Phase Detection of Fluorotelomer Alcohols and Other Oxygenated Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances by Chemical Ionization Mass Spectrometry. Environ. Sci. Technol. Lett., 2021. DOI: 10.1021/acs.estlett.9b00196
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin