冬季环境大气中VOCs和无机污染物在线监测:碘负离子Vocus化学电离质谱仪应用示范

Iodide Chemical Ionization

Felipe Lopez-Hilfiker, Carla Frege, Veronika Pospisilova,  Abigail Koss 
TOFWERK, Switzerland & USA

Iodide Chemical Ionization

Vocus CI-TOF 是一种可实时测量空气中痕量VOCs的化学电离质谱法(CI-MS)。化学电离质谱法的原理简述如下:待测物分子被引入到严格控制温度和电压的离子分子反应器中跟试剂离子进行高效且无碎片的‘软’电离,从而使中性分子带上电荷。CI-MS通常具有极好的敏感度和选择性;不同的试剂离子对特定类别的化合物会具有更好的感度。例如,碘试剂离子(I-)可与多种类的挥发性有机化合物和无机化合物(VOCs和VICs)形成加成离子,使碘离子CI质谱法在许多应用案例中有用武之地。本文中,我们使用Vocus 碘离子 CI-TOF对瑞士阿尔卑斯山区大气中无机组分、有机酸、硝基芳烃和高氧化态VOCs等特征污染物进行为期两周的观测,同期也部署了一套Vocus PTR-TOF在同一点位进行平行测试,我们得到了两台不同的仪器对同类物种的测量结果,并对其进行了比较和初步讨论。

方法  

I碘离子-化学电离质谱法[1] 在大气化学科研领域的应用已经取得累累硕果[2][3]。碘试剂离子的前期研究大多需要钋放射源来生成试剂离子;但因放射性材料的获取和运输均受到严格管控,使得仪器运行和外场部署受到很多限制。TOFWERK最新推出的Vocus Aim反应器,采用紫外光源(VUV)产生试剂离子,在易用安全的前提下实现了与传统钋放射源同等级的灵敏度。 Vocus Aim反应器相对于其他设计的碘离子CI-MS的另一个优势是其VOC响应对样品中湿度变化不敏感,也就无需耗时耗力地进行梯度湿度条件下的仪器校准。  

一台配备了碘离子Aim反应器的Vocus 2R CI-TOF(Vocus Aim I- CI-TOF),在瑞士图恩山区进行了为期15天的冬季大气测量。该仪器与另一台配有PTR反应器的Vocus 2R CI-TOF做平行实验;Vocus PTR采用质子转移反应化学电离来实时测定大气常见的挥发性有机化合物。本次实验于2020年12月22日至2021年1月5日在TOFWERK总部楼顶进行。值得说明的是,阿尔卑斯山地区每年这个时候,除了市区和植物源排放之外,可以预见还会观测到木材及其他生物质燃烧的特征污染物,以及雪季道路撒盐后产生的一系列含氯物种。 

无机组分 

从大气研究到工业等各种应用场景,挥发性无机化合物(VICs)的准确定性定量测量都有极大的需求。本次测量期间,在环境空气中观察到众多VICs,包括SO2, SO3, N2O5, HNO3,以及各种卤素分子,包括BrNO2和含氯组分。图1展示了Cl2, N2O5, HNO3 and ClNO2在15天内的浓度变化趋势。 图2通过12月24日至30日这一时间段数据展示了气溶胶或液相中N2O5所引发的氯活化反应[4]。该仪器也可以测量氯化氢[5],但该次实验段内没有检测到氯化氢。 

图 1. 碘离子Vocus Aim 观测到的特征无机化合物在瑞士山区冬季15天内的浓度变化.
图 2. 12月25日白天至28号之间的典型氯活化过程:在N2O5峰值后都会跟随着一个ClNO2的峰值。浅色线条表示1Hz的碘离子Vocus Aim观测数据;深色线条则是10分钟的平均值。黄色背景区对应日间光照时间段。

有机酸 

碘离子CI-MS是测量有机酸的最佳检测器之一。在测量期间,在环境空气中检测到很多有机酸的显著浓度变化。图3显示了15天内测量香草醛、丙二酸、甘油酸和琥珀酸的昼夜平均时间序列。上述物质通常在早间(09:00-13:00)有轻微增长,下午则增长更甚。同时可以清楚地观察到丙二酸达峰比其他化合物更早。 

图 3. 15天观测期内特征VOCs的平均昼夜时间序列。a) 香草醛 (C8H8O3), b) 丙二酸(C3H4O3), c) 甘油酸(C3H6O3) 和琥珀酸(C4H6O4)。阴影位置展示了浓度的平均方差。

硝基芳烃 

硝基芳烃一般来源于燃烧和工业活动以及光化学过程 [6]。许多硝基芳烃具有毒性和潜在基因诱变性[7]。同时,它们作为亚硝酸(HONO)的一个重要来源,被越来越意识到在大气光化学过程中所起的作用。为更好了解硝基芳烃的排放来源和其对人类健康的影响,就必须对它们在环境中的存在进行精确测量。 

Vocus Aim I-是大气中硝基芳烃的绝佳检测器,相对于其它在线质谱方法,碘离子模式下电离硝基芳烃基本不会产生碎片。图4显示了15天采样期间四种代表性硝基芳烃的平均昼夜差异,与之前污染环境中硝基酚的观察结果基本一致[6]。 

图 4. 四种硝基芳烃的昼夜时间序列: a) 4-甲基-2-苯酚, b) 4-硝基苯酚, c) 甲基-硝基邻苯二酚and d) 4-硝基邻苯二酚。实线展示的是15天的平均浓度,而阴影对应了浓度的平均方差。

高氧化态物质和生物质燃烧指标物 

碘离子CI-MS因其高灵敏度和无碎片‘软’电离,是公认测量高氧化态物质的首选之一 [8]。图5展示了两个高氧化态物质在Vocus Aim 碘离子模式观察到的时间序列,其中一个是左旋葡聚糖(C6H10O5),生物质燃烧的特征指标之一。同时还观测到其他生物质燃烧标志物,包括前面讨论的硝基芳烃化合物、香草醛、香草酸、苯酚和愈创木酚等。 

图 5. 两种高氧化态物质的时间序列: 左旋葡聚糖 (C6H10O5) (红线) 和 C8H12O6 (蓝线)。

与Vocus PTR-TOF的平行比较结果 

通过与Vocus PTR结果的相互比较,验证了配有Aim反应器的Vocus CI-TOF在这几周无人值守观测周期中的绝佳稳定性。分子式为C2H4O2的物种在两台仪器上呈现出几乎相同的浓度时间序列(图6)。Vocus PTR(红线)测量的是乙酸和羟乙醛的总和,而Vocus Aim I-(蓝线)则相对更有选择性,测量的结果只来源于乙酸[9]。值得注意的是,上述两台仪器的响应对大气样品中的湿度不敏感,所以我们无需对数据进行湿度修正,大大简化了数据分析流程也同时提高了数据质量。 

图 6. Vocus Aim检出的乙酸时间序列(蓝色,左边y轴)跟PTR检出的乙酸和羟乙醛之和 (红色,右边y轴)比较。

文献 

[1] Lopez-Hilfiker et al. “Constraining the sensitivity of iodide adduct chemical ionization mass spectrometry to multifunctional organic molecules using the collision limit and thermodynamic stability of iodide ion adducts.” Atmos. Meas. Tech., 9, 1505-1512, 2016. https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-9-1505-2016

[2] Lee et al. “An Iodide-Adduct High-Resolution Time-of-Flight Chemical-Ionization Mass Spectrometer: Application to Atmospheric Inorganic and Organic Compounds.” Environ. Sci. Technol. 48, 11, 6309–6317, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1021/es500362a

[3] Gaston et al. “Online molecular characterization of fine particulate matter in Port Angeles, WA: Evidence for a major impact from residential wood smoke.” Atmospheric Environment 138, 2016. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.atmosenv.2016.05.013

[4] Kercher et al. “Chlorine activation by N2O5: simultaneous, in situ detection of ClNO2 and N2O5 by chemical ionization mass spectrometry.” Atmos. Meas. Tech., 2, 193–204, 2009. https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-2-193-2009

[5] Lee et al. “Flight Deployment of a High-Resolution Time-of-Flight Chemical Ionization Mass Spectrometer: Observations of Reactive Halogen and Nitrogen Oxide Species”. Journal of Geophysical Research: Atmospheres, 123, 7670–7686, 2018. https://doi.org/10.1029/2017JD028082

[6] Yuan et al. “Secondary formation of nitrated phenols: insights from observations during the Uintah Basin Winter Ozone Study (UBWOS).” Atmos. Chem. Phys., 16, 2139–2153, 2016. https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-16-2139-2016

[7] Ju and Parales. “Nitroaromatic Compounds, from Synthesis to Biodegradation.” Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews, 250–272, 2010. https://doi.org/10.1128/mmbr.00006-10

[8] Riva et al. “Evaluating the performance of five different chemical ionization techniques for detecting gaseous oxygenated organic species.” Atmos. Meas. Tech., 12, 2403–2421, 2019. https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-12-2403-2019

[9] Koss et al. “Non-methane organic gas emissions from biomass burning: identification, quantification, and emission factors from PTR-TOF during the FIREX 2016 laboratory experiment.” Atmos. Chem. Phys., 18, 3299-3319, 2018.
https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-18-3299-2018

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Monitoring of Volatile Organic and Inorganic Compounds in Wintertime Air: A Demonstration of Iodide Chemical Ionization with a Vocus CI-TOF Mass Spectrometer

Iodide Chemical Ionization

Felipe Lopez-Hilfiker, Carla Frege, Veronika Pospisilova,  Abigail Koss 
TOFWERK, Switzerland & USA

Iodide Chemical Ionization

The Vocus CI-TOF is a chemical ionization mass spectrometer (CI-MS) that measures trace volatile compounds in air in real time. Chemical ionization is a highly sensitive ionization method that ionizes analyte ions with little or no fragmentation by way of chemical reactions with reagent ions that are abundantly present in the instrument’s ion-molecule reactor. Different reagent ions can be used, each of which is selective for specific classes of compounds. Iodide reagent ions (I) form adduct ions with a wide variety of both volatile organic and inorganic compounds (VOCs and VICs), making iodide CI mass spectrometry attractive for many applications. Here we describe observations of inorganic gases, organic acids, nitroaromatics, and highly oxidized VOCs during a two-week measurement of ambient air in the Swiss Alps using iodide chemical ionization with a Vocus CI-TOF.

Methods 

Iodide chemical ionization mass spectrometry  [1] has been used to great effect in atmospheric chemistry field studies [2][3]. Most previous research using iodide reagent ions used polonium-based sources for reagent ion generation. Radioactive material is strictly controlled, complicating the deployment of such instruments. TOFWERK’s Vocus Aim reactor, used in this work, uses a vacuum ultraviolet (VUV) source to produce reagent ions, achieving approximately the same sensitivity as traditional polonium sources in a safer, more easily deployable package.  

A Vocus 2R CI-TOF equipped with an Aim reactor and I- reagent ions (Vocus Aim I) was used for ambient sampling in Thun- Switzerland, for 15 days during wintertime. The instrument was deployed side-by-side with a Vocus 2R CI-TOF equipped with a PTR reactor, which used proton-transfer-reaction chemical ionization to measure volatile organic compounds (Vocus PTR). The measurements took place between December 22, 2020 and January 5, 2021 at TOFWERK headquarters in Thun, Switzerland.  During this time of the year in this Swiss Alpine region, it is expected to see some biomass burning emissions from local wood burning and some chlorine emissions from road salt during and after snow, in addition to some urban and natural emission from the area.

Volatile Inorganic Compounds

The measurement of volatile inorganic compounds (VICs) is of great interest in different fields, from atmospheric research to industrial scenarios. Many VICs were observed in ambient air during the measurement period, including SO2, SO3,  N2O5,  HNO3,  and  various halogenated molecules including BrNO2 and chlorine-containing species. Figure 1 shows continuous ambient measurement of Cl2, N2O5, HNO3 and ClNO2.  Figure 2 shows an expanded view of the time period from December 24-30,  showing  chlorine  activation  via  N2O5 present in the particle or liquid phase [4]. The instrument can also measure HCl [5], but none was observed at this location during this time period. 

Figure 1. Vocus Aim I- measurement of select volatile inorganic compounds over a 15-day wintertime period in Thun, Switzerland.
Figure 2. Chlorine activation event from midday on the December 25 through December 28: a peak in ClNO2 follows a peak in N2O5 on several days. The light lines show the 1-second Vocus Aim I- measurements; the darker bold lines show the 10 min average signal. The shaded area shows the time of solar radiation at this time of the year.

Organic Acids

Iodide CI-MS is an especially sensitive detector for organic acids. Many of these acids were evident in ambient air during the measurement period. Figure 3 shows a diurnal average time series over 15 days of measurement of vanillin, malonic acid, glyceric acid and succinic acid. The diurnal patterns typically display a slight increase during the morning (09:00-13:00) and a stronger increase in the afternoon, peaking earlier for malonic acid than for other compounds.

Figure 3. Average diurnal pattern of commonly measured VOCs over 15 days of measurement: a) vanillin (C8H8O3), b) malonic acid (C3H4O3), c) glyceric acid (C3H6O3) and succinic acid (C4H6O4). The shaded area shows the error deviation from the average

Nitroaromatics

Nitroaromatic compounds can be emitted from combustion and industrial activities, as well as photochemical processes [6]. Many nitroaromatic compounds are toxic and mutagenic [7 and references therein]. Their role in atmospheric chemistry is increasingly recognized as an important source of nitrous acid. Precise and sensitive measurement of these compounds is necessary to understand their sources and impact on human health.

The Vocus Aim I- is a sensitive detector of nitroaromatics in the atmosphere. Figure 4 shows the average diurnal pattern of four nitroaromatic compounds during the 15 days of sampling. The diurnal patterns are consistent with previous observations of nitrophenols in polluted environments [6].

Figure 4. Diurnal pattern of four nitroaromatics: a) 4-methyl-2-nitrophenol, b) 4-nitrophenol, c) Methyl-nitrocatechol and d) 4-nitrocatechol. The lines show the mean value at that time of day, averaged over 15 days. The shaded area shows the standard deviation.

Highly Oxidized Species and Biomass Burning Indicators

Iodide CI-MS is also proven to be a particularly good method to measure highly oxidized species [8]. Figure 5 shows the Vocus Aim I- time series of two highly oxidized species, one of them levoglucosan (C6H10O5), which is a biomass burning indicator. Other biomass burning indicators were also observed, including the nitroaromatic compounds discussed previously, vanillin, vanillic acid, phenol, and guaiacol.

Figure 5. Time series of two highly oxidized molecules: levoglucosan (C6H10O5) (red line, top) and C8H12O6 (blue, bottom).

Performance Compared to Vocus PTR

The stability and performance of the Vocus CI-TOF using the Aim reactor are demonstrated by comparison with the system using the PTR reactor across these several weeks of unattended operation. The sum of isomers with the formula C2H4O2 shows nearly identical time series on both instruments (Figure 6). The Vocus PTR (red line) measured the sum of acetic acid and glycolaldehyde, while the Vocus Aim I- (blue line) is more specific and measures acetic acid only [9]. The responses of both instruments are humidity independent, therefore no correction to the data was needed.

Figure 6. Acetic acid measured by AIM (blue, left axis) compared to the PTR measurement of acetic acid plus glycolaldehyde (red, right axis).

References

[1] Lopez-Hilfiker et al. “Constraining the sensitivity of iodide adduct chemical ionization mass spectrometry to multifunctional organic molecules using the collision limit and thermodynamic stability of iodide ion adducts.” Atmos. Meas. Tech., 9, 1505-1512, 2016. https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-9-1505-2016

[2] Lee et al. “An Iodide-Adduct High-Resolution Time-of-Flight Chemical-Ionization Mass Spectrometer: Application to Atmospheric Inorganic and Organic Compounds.” Environ. Sci. Technol. 48, 11, 6309–6317, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1021/es500362a

[3] Gaston et al. “Online molecular characterization of fine particulate matter in Port Angeles, WA: Evidence for a major impact from residential wood smoke.” Atmospheric Environment 138, 2016. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.atmosenv.2016.05.013

[4] Kercher et al. “Chlorine activation by N2O5: simultaneous, in situ detection of ClNO2 and N2O5 by chemical ionization mass spectrometry.” Atmos. Meas. Tech., 2, 193–204, 2009. https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-2-193-2009

[5] Lee et al. “Flight Deployment of a High-Resolution Time-of-Flight Chemical Ionization Mass Spectrometer: Observations of Reactive Halogen and Nitrogen Oxide Species”. Journal of Geophysical Research: Atmospheres, 123, 7670–7686, 2018. https://doi.org/10.1029/2017JD028082

[6] Yuan et al. “Secondary formation of nitrated phenols: insights from observations during the Uintah Basin Winter Ozone Study (UBWOS).” Atmos. Chem. Phys., 16, 2139–2153, 2016. https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-16-2139-2016

[7] Ju and Parales. “Nitroaromatic Compounds, from Synthesis to Biodegradation.” Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews, 250–272, 2010. https://doi.org/10.1128/mmbr.00006-10

[8] Riva et al. “Evaluating the performance of five different chemical ionization techniques for detecting gaseous oxygenated organic species.” Atmos. Meas. Tech., 12, 2403–2421, 2019. https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-12-2403-2019

[9] Koss et al. “Non-methane organic gas emissions from biomass burning: identification, quantification, and emission factors from PTR-TOF during the FIREX 2016 laboratory experiment.” Atmos. Chem. Phys., 18, 3299-3319, 2018.
https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-18-3299-2018

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
ASK A QUESTION
close slider
Side Ask Us a Question Pop Up

We would like to hear from you. Please send us a message by filling out the form below or email mail@tofwerk.com, and we will get back with you shortly.